Question: What Are The 8 Areas Of Knowledge?

What kind of knowledge is ethics?

plural noun 1 the moral principles governing or influencing conduct.

2 the branch of knowledge concerned with moral principles.

— DERIVATIVES ethicist noun.

In other words, ethics does not mean the same as morals, it is the study of morals..

What are the 5 types of knowledge?

The 6 Types Of Knowledge: From A Priori To ProceduralA Priori. A priori and a posteriori are two of the original terms in epistemology (the study of knowledge). … A Posteriori. … Explicit Knowledge. … Tacit Knowledge. … Propositional Knowledge (also Descriptive or Declarative Knowledge) … Non-Propositional Knowledge (also Procedural Knowledge)

How do you classify knowledge?

We classify knowledge into three categories: general knowledge, domain specific knowledge and site specific knowledge. General Knowledge. General knowledge is true for most online documents, if not for all of them, that is, the knowledge is both domain independent and site independent.

What are the basic sources of knowledge?

It distinguishes the “four standard basic sources”: perception, memory, consciousness, and reason. A basic source yields knowledge or justified belief without positive dependence on another source. This article distinguishes each of the above as a basic source of knowledge, with the exception of memory.

Can you have wisdom without knowledge?

Wisdom is built upon knowledge. That means you can be both wise and knowledgeable, but you can’t be wise without being knowledgeable.

What are the methods of knowing?

The methods of acquiring knowledge can be broken down into five categories each with its own strengths and weaknesses.Intuition. The first method of knowing is intuition. … Authority. Perhaps one of the most common methods of acquiring knowledge is through authority. … Rationalism. … Empiricism. … The Scientific Method.

Why is faith a way of knowing?

Despite not being evidence based, faith is considered a WOK because it is an act of trust that goes beyond rational reasoning to be referred to when in need, possibly altering or changing our perception and way of thinking.

How many areas of knowledge are there?

8 AreasThere are 8 Areas of Knowledge, these are: Mathematics, the Natural Sciences, the Human Sciences, History, The Arts, Ethics, Religious Knowledge and Indigenous Knowledge. Each Area of Knowledge is a system.

What is the 8 aboriginal ways of learning?

This Aboriginal pedagogy framework is expressed as eight interconnected pedagogies involving narrative-driven learning, visualised learning processes, hands-on/reflective techniques, use of symbols/metaphors, land-based learning, indirect/synergistic logic, modelled/scaffolded genre mastery, and connectedness to …

What are Tok concepts?

Those 12 concepts are Evidence, Certainty, Truth, Interpretation, Power, Justification, Explanation, Objectivity, Perspective, Culture, Values and Responsibility.

What is the biblical gift of knowledge?

In Christianity, the word of knowledge is a spiritual gift listed in 1 Corinthians 12:8. It has been associated with the ability to teach the faith, but also with forms of revelation similar to prophecy. It is closely related to another spiritual gift, the word of wisdom.

Is language an AOK?

Considering the role of language to each AoK is an excellent way to critically consider that subject. You might think that language is just a tool of communication, however this is not necessarily the case. … You might, however, argue that knowledge exists and that language is simply a way to communicate or express this.

What are the differences among the women’s ways of knowing?

Belenky, Clinchy, Goldberger, and Tarule (1986) identified five ways of knowing in women: silent, received, subjective, procedural, and constructed. … Neither women nor men relied on received knowing; women used subjective knowing more than men did, while the opposite was true for procedural knowing.

What are the areas of knowledge?

Areas of knowledge TOK distinguishes between eight areas of knowl- edge: mathematics, the natural sciences, the human sciences, the arts, history, ethics, religious knowledge systems, and indigenous knowl- edge systems.

What are the AOKs and WOKs?

AOKs and WOKsWAYS OF KNOWING.Emotion.Memory.Sense Perception.Imagination.Reason.Intuition.Faith.More items…

What are the four types of knowledge?

According to Krathwohl (2002), knowledge can be categorized into four types: (1) factual knowledge, (2) conceptual knowledge, (3) procedural knowledge, and (4) metacognitive knowledge.

What are the 3 types of knowledge?

Piaget proposes three types of knowledge: physical, logical mathematical, and social knowledge.

What are the WOKs?

Ways of KnowingEdit Ways of Knowing (WOKs) are tools which can be used by knowers in order to obtain and manipulate knowledge.

What are the two major types of knowledge?

As we mentioned earlier, knowledge management considers two types of knowledge: explicit and tacit. Of course, every company in the world owns both explicit and tacit knowledge that is unique to that specific organization.

What are the 8 ways of knowing?

In the IB there are eight different ways of knowing: Language, Sense perception, Emotion, Reason, Imagination, Faith, Intuition and Memory.

What does AOK mean in Tok?

system of relationships between its key conceptsAn AOK is a system of relationships between its key concepts. Different building blocks build quite different AOKs and produce different ways of thinking about the world. For example: in physics key concepts include those of causation, energy and its conservation principle, field, charge and so on.